Home > Sample chapters

Work with webpages

Manage pages

After you have created several pages, you might need to perform other tasks with them, such as changing the page that is your site’s home page, deleting pages, restoring deleted pages, or reviewing the popularity trends of your pages. You can also use alerts to receive email messages whenever a page is changed.

Both the Site Pages and Pages libraries have all the features of document libraries, such as history and version management, so the risk of losing your page changes is low. Major versioning is turned on by default for the Site Pages library, and major and minor versioning for the Pages library. You can also use content approval and workflow, and you can restrict the permissions regarding who can edit and publish pages.

To view all pages in either the Pages or Site Pages library

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Go to a page, and then, on the Page tab, in the Page Library group, select View All Pages.

    • From the Site Contents page, select Pages or Site Pages.

To make a page the home page for a site

  1. Go to the page you want to make the home page.

  2. On the Page tab, in the Page Actions group, select Make Homepage.

To display a page’s history

  1. Go to the page, and then on the Page tab, in the Manage group, select Page History.

  2. 07fig29.jpg

    Click to view larger image

    The page history displays static content; additions are displayed in a green font and deletions in a red strikethrough font

To compare two versions of a page

  1. Display the page history of the page as described in the previous procedure.

  2. In the left navigation pane, below one of the versions you want to use in the comparison, in the Compare with version list, select a prior version number.

  3. 07fig30.jpg

    Display what has been added and deleted between one version of the page and another

To revert to a previous version of a page

  1. Do one of the following to display the page’s version history:

    • Display the page history of the page as described in the “To display a page’s history” procedure earlier in this topic, and then select Version History.

    • Display all pages as described in the “To view all pages in either the Pages or Site Pages library” procedure earlier in this topic, select the page you want to revert, and then on the Files tab, in the Manage group, select Version History.

  2. Select the date and time in the Modified column for the version you want to restore as the current version, and then select Restore.

  3. 07fig31.jpg

    Use the menu to view, restore, or delete a version of a page

  4. Select OK to confirm that you want to replace the current version of the page with the selected version of the page.

  5. Go to the page and, in the yellow notification message, select Revert to template.

  6. 07fig32.jpg

    Click to view larger image

    The yellow notification message states that the page has been customized from its template

  7. Select OK. The yellow notification message disappears.

To delete a page

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Go to the page you want to delete. On the Page tab, in the Manage group, select Delete page, and then select OK to confirm that you want to send the page to the site Recycle Bin.

    • Display all pages as described in the “To view all pages in either the Pages or Site Pages library” procedure earlier in this topic, and then do one of the following:

      • Right-click the page, and then select Delete.

      • Select the page, and then on the Files tab, in the Manage group, select Delete Document.

To restore a deleted page

  1. Do one of the following to display the Recycle Bin:

    • On the Quick Launch, select Recycle Bin.

    • On the Site Settings menu, select Site Content, and then select Recycle Bin.

  2. Select the page you want to restore, and then select Restore Selection.

  3. Select OK to confirm that you want to restore the page.

To create an alert on a page

  1. Go to the page for which you want to set up an alert.

  2. On the Page tab, in the Share & Track group, select Alert Me, and then in the list, select Set an alert on this page.

  3. In the New Alert dialog, select your preferences so that you receive an email based on your specific criteria and frequency, and then select OK.