Home > Sample chapters

Security within SharePoint 2013

Adding people to groups

A new site can be created to use the same permissions as the parent site or to use unique permissions. Upon creation of a new site with unique permissions, SharePoint 2013 automatically creates three groups: Visitor, Member, and Owner. New groups can be created, and unused groups can be deleted.

Permissions then need to be assigned to groups for them to actually be of use. SharePoint administrators can use permission levels to control what groups or individuals can do within SharePoint. Thirty-three selectable permissions can be mixed and matched in different combinations to define thousands of permission levels.

Permission levels determine what type of activities that group can perform on a site, page, list, library, item, or document. Upon creation of a new team site, SharePoint automatically creates seven permission levels:

Permission level

Definition

Full Control

Users have full control of a site to add, delete, approve, move, and create new sites.

Design

Users can view, add, delete, approve, and customize a SharePoint site.

Edit

Users can add, edit, and delete lists. They can also view, add, update, and delete list items and documents.

Contribute

Users can view, add, update, and delete list items and documents.

Read

Users can view pages and list items. They can also can download document copies.

Limited Access

User can view specific lists, document libraries, list items, folders, or documents when given permission.

View Only

Similar to the Read permission level, but users cannot download items.

Add people to existing groups

  1. On the Site Settings page, in the Users And Permissions section, click Site Permissions.

    httpatomoreillycomsourcemspimages1646841.jpg
  2. On the Permissions page, click the Permissions tab and then, in the Grant group, click Grant Permissions.

    httpatomoreillycomsourcemspimages1646843.jpg
  3. In the Share dialog box, in the designated text box, enter names, email addresses, or the word “Everyone”.

  4. Click the Hide Options button.

  5. In the Select A Group Or Permission Level list box, select a group name.

  6. Click Share.